University of Dayton Chapter

American Association of University Professors

Back Up Next

March 9, 2011  (Minutes Unapproved)  


Roesch Library Room 503, 2:00 p.m.  

Presiding:  Joseph Watras  

Dr. Friel presented the treasurer's report and the chapter members approved it.

Dr. Heather MacLachlan from the Music Department was a guest.

The Ohio Conference of the AAUP asked all chapters to contribute to a fund if the conference embarks on a campaign to reverse the strictures against collective bargaining. The members agreed that the chapter would help the conference when the Ohio Conference calls for it. 

The chapter commended Dr. Watras for distributing information from the AAUP Ohio Conference to the University faculty through the facstaff service. At the same time, the chapter expressed appreciation to the university administration for providing this means of campus wide communication for faculty members.

A faculty member sent information to the chapter about the relationship between tuition increases, faculty raises, and administrative salaries. The chapter thanked the individual for compiling the information.

The Chapter will host an open discussion for UD faculty members with the director of the Ohio Conference of the AAUP. It will take place in the Torch Lounge of the Kennedy Union from 3pm to 4:30pm on 7 April 2011. The topic will be the relation of Private Universities, the Ohio State Government, and the Ohio Conference of the American Association of University Professors. The discussion is timely because the state government is undertaking many changes in requirements related to higher education. Ms. Sara Kaminski, director of the Ohio Conference of the AAUP and Dr. Rudy Fichtenbaum from Wright State University will participate in the discussion. For this program, the School of Education will provide refreshments. All interested faculty members, university administrators, and students are invited.

Next meeting will be April 14, 2011. It will begin at 3pm.

Meeting ended 3:00

Prof. David M. Buckley
Secretary AAUP



        Respectfully submitted,  


        David M. Buckley  


Back Up Next