University of Dayton Chapter

American Association of University Professors

Back Up Next


Nov 29, 2012  Minutes Unapproved)




Kennedy Union 207, 3:00 p.m.  

Presiding:  Joseph Watras  

The meeting came to order at 3pm on Thursday, 29 November 2012 in Kennedy Union, room 207. The discussion began with the election of officers. Joseph Watras will continue as president and Caroline Merithew accepted the position of vice president. Bill Friel will continue as treasurer. The chapter members considered hosting an event for the coming semester. The suggestion that everyone accepted was to invite Dr. Rudy Fichtenbaum to speak to the faculty members at the University of Dayton. The members agreed this was an excellent idea. Dr. Fichtenbaum is a professor of economics at Wright State University, and he recently assumed the presidency of the National AAUP. Since Dr. Fichtenbaum has served in several posts for the AAUP, he can speak about the situation nationally and the range of problems facing chapters in other universities. In this way, Dr. Fichtenbaum can offer insights into the workings of the AAUP in Washington, and their relation to our campus. The members agreed that this seemed to be a valuable way to lead into another event about issues specific to our campus. At 4pm, the meeting adjourned. The next day, Dr. Merithew contacted Dr. Fichtenbaum and he agreed to come to the University of Dayton. She contacted Dr. Bickford, the associate provost, who is helping organizations find dates and times that do not conflict with other events. When Dr. Merithew has a time that accommodates everyone, the chapter will begin planning for the event and the chapter will announce it to the faculty.


Respectfully submitted,


Joe Watras

Back Up Next